Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Course creators running cohort-based programs who need different student groups to access different lessons, Influencers and creators who want a Patreon-style premium membership on a WordPress site they own and control
Read the full SureMembers reviewBest for: Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs
Read the full Thinkific reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
SureMembers keeps content protection simple: Access Groups map your content to the right audience in a few steps, and members are managed inside the WordPress dashboard you already use. It skips built-in checkout, email, and community, and its published pricing range is too broad to plan around. Overall, it's a smart pick for WordPress owners who already have a stack they like.
Thinkific bundles courses, community, and checkout on one platform, with flat per-site pricing that covers up to 10,000 students, verified security credentials, and a 4.5/5 G2 rating. The trade-offs: no free plan or refund guarantee, tier-gated features, and bandwidth caps. Overall, it's a strong pick for creators and teams serious about selling what they know.
SureMembers is a plugin that adds content restriction and membership management to a self-hosted WordPress site. Its central building block is the Access Group: a rule set that ties specific content to a defined audience. When someone without access lands on protected material, the plugin follows the behavior you configured, so unauthorized visitors are managed on your terms rather than hitting a dead end. Because it lives inside WordPress, members, content, and protection rules are all managed from the admin dashboard you already use.
Thinkific is an all-in-one platform for creating, selling, and running online learning. It covers courses, communities, memberships, coaching, digital downloads, and the checkout to sell them. It's built for experts turning knowledge into revenue, academies scaling training, companies running customer education, and associations powering member learning. Thinkific says 20,000+ teams use it, and customers have earned $4.23B.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | SureMembers | Thinkific |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $5.75/mo Starter | $54/mo Basic |
| Free plan | No | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | 30 days |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | Up to 26% |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $5.75/moCheaper Starter plan, billed annually | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $5.75/mo Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $5.75/mo Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $5.75/mo Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 5 | 5 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 12, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 30, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), SureMembers costs $5.75/mo vs Thinkific at $40/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Thinkific covers 10,000 students on every self-serve plan; Plus adds 10,000+ seats. SureMembers' scale limits aren't published, so Thinkific is the documented bet.