Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Shopify to sell physical products across every channel; pick Thinkific to sell courses and communities.
Best for: First-time founders who want a store live fast, Brands selling both online and in person with POS
Read the full Shopify reviewBest for: Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs
Read the full Thinkific reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Shopify pulls your store, checkout, payments, POS, and multi-channel selling into one admin, backed by Shop Pay's proven conversion lift and a 21,000+ app ecosystem. Expect costs and app subscriptions to climb as you grow. Overall, it's the safest default for anyone serious about selling online, from first sale to full scale.
Thinkific bundles courses, community, and checkout on one platform, with flat per-site pricing that covers up to 10,000 students, verified security credentials, and a 4.5/5 G2 rating. The trade-offs: no free plan or refund guarantee, tier-gated features, and bandwidth caps. Overall, it's a strong pick for creators and teams serious about selling what they know.
Shopify is an all-in-one commerce platform for building, running, and growing a business. It covers your website, checkout, payments, POS, shipping, and marketing from one admin. You can sell online, in person, on social, and through AI chat channels. It serves everyone from solo entrepreneurs to enterprise brands — Mattel and Glossier run on it.
Thinkific is an all-in-one platform for creating, selling, and running online learning. It covers courses, communities, memberships, coaching, digital downloads, and the checkout to sell them. It's built for experts turning knowledge into revenue, academies scaling training, companies running customer education, and associations powering member learning. Thinkific says 20,000+ teams use it, and customers have earned $4.23B.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Shopify | Thinkific |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $39/mo Basic | $54/mo Basic |
| Free plan | No | No |
| Free trial | 3 days | 30 days |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | Up to 26% | Up to 26% |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $29/moCheaper Basic plan, billed annually | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 4 | 5 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 14, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 14, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Shopify costs $29/mo vs Thinkific at $40/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Not natively. Shopify focuses on commerce and relies on its app store for course delivery. Thinkific builds courses, communities, quizzes, certificates, and learning paths directly into the platform.