Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Notify Me if you already run a Shopify or BigCommerce store and want sold-out pages to capture sales; pick Shopify if you're building the store itself.
Best for: Shopify stores with frequent stockouts or limited product drops, Merchants who want to collect emails from shoppers hitting sold-out pages
Read the full Notify Me reviewBest for: First-time founders who want a store live fast, Brands selling both online and in person with POS
Read the full Shopify reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Notify Me! turns sold-out pages into waitlists, pre-orders, and wishlists, then feeds demand signals into Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Omnisend, and PushOwl. Its 4.9/5 rating across 3,400-plus reviews shows real recovery power, but it's locked to Shopify and BigCommerce and SMS costs vary by country. Overall, it's a strong pick for stores losing sales to stockouts.
Shopify pulls your store, checkout, payments, POS, and multi-channel selling into one admin, backed by Shop Pay's proven conversion lift and a 21,000+ app ecosystem. Expect costs and app subscriptions to climb as you grow. Overall, it's the safest default for anyone serious about selling online, from first sale to full scale.
Notify Me! is a Shopify and BigCommerce app that turns out-of-stock moments into revenue. It replaces "Sold out" buttons with waitlist signups, preorder options, and wishlists, then feeds those signals into your email and marketing tools. It's built for e-commerce merchants who want to capture demand on products they can't currently ship—from small brands to the 35,000+ stores already using it.
Shopify is an all-in-one commerce platform for building, running, and growing a business. It covers your website, checkout, payments, POS, shipping, and marketing from one admin. You can sell online, in person, on social, and through AI chat channels. It serves everyone from solo entrepreneurs to enterprise brands — Mattel and Glossier run on it.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Notify Me | Shopify |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $19.90/mo Starter | $39/mo Basic |
| Free plan | Yes Lifetime caps: 100 back-in-stock requests, 5 SMS, 5 WhatsApp messages, 5 pre-orders, 50 wishlist actions; 10 notifications/month | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | 3 days |
| Money-back guarantee | 30 days | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | Up to 20% | Up to 26% |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | FreeCheaper Free plan, billed annually | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $15.92/mo Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $15.92/mo Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $15.92/mo Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $29/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 6 | 4 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Notify Me costs $0/mo vs Shopify at $29/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
No. Notify Me is built specifically for Shopify and BigCommerce stores. You'll need one of those platforms first, which is why many merchants end up using both tools together.
They complement each other. Shopify runs your entire store; Notify Me is an app that adds back-in-stock alerts, preorders, and wishlists on top of it.