Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Solo instructors and coaches selling their first courses on WordPress, Creators who want memberships, subscriptions, and bundles without extra plugins
Read the full Learndash reviewBest for: Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs
Read the full Thinkific reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
LearnDash packs a course builder, quizzes, memberships, and real-time reporting into one WordPress plugin, with a single license covering unlimited learners. You'll need your own site, annual billing starts at $259, and top features like AI outlines and group seat sales sit on higher tiers. Overall, it's a smart pick for creators and training teams who want full control on WordPress.
Thinkific bundles courses, community, and checkout on one platform, with flat per-site pricing that covers up to 10,000 students, verified security credentials, and a 4.5/5 G2 rating. The trade-offs: no free plan or refund guarantee, tier-gated features, and bandwidth caps. Overall, it's a strong pick for creators and teams serious about selling what they know.
LearnDash is a learning management system that runs as a WordPress plugin. It's built for solo instructors, coaches, businesses, and training teams that want to create, sell, and track courses on their own website. With over 100,000 active installs and 25 million learners taught, it scales from a single course to group sales for organizations.
Thinkific is an all-in-one platform for creating, selling, and running online learning. It covers courses, communities, memberships, coaching, digital downloads, and the checkout to sell them. It's built for experts turning knowledge into revenue, academies scaling training, companies running customer education, and associations powering member learning. Thinkific says 20,000+ teams use it, and customers have earned $4.23B.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Learndash | Thinkific |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $21.58/mo Essentials | $54/mo Basic |
| Free plan | No | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | 30 days |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | Up to 26% |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $21.58/moCheaper Essentials plan, billed annually | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $21.58/mo Essentials plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $21.58/mo Essentials plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $21.58/mo Essentials plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $40/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 5 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 12, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 30, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Learndash costs $21.58/mo vs Thinkific at $40/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Yes. Learndash is a WordPress plugin, so you'll need a site with compatible hosting. Thinkific is fully hosted — there's nothing to install or maintain.