Compare

Drip vs Thinkific

Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.

Quick verdict: Pick Drip if you sell products through an online store; pick Thinkific if you're selling courses, communities, or coaching in one place.

Drip

Best for: Shopify, WooCommerce, or BigCommerce store owners who want email revenue without hiring a specialist, Small ecommerce teams tired of bloated or restrictive platforms like Klaviyo or Mailchimp

Read the full Drip review
Start free trial
Thinkific

Best for: Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs

Read the full Thinkific review
Start free trial

Commission may apply at no extra cost

Drip vs Thinkific: features compared

Compare key features side by side

best for
Drip:Ecommerce stores, creators, and event sellers driving email revenue
Thinkific:Experts selling courses, memberships, coaching, and digital downloads
Tie
integrations/MCP
Drip:50+ integrations: Shopify, Zapier, Stripe; open API
Thinkific:App Store and Zapier; API access starts on Grow
Drip
learning curve
Drip:Three-step setup with prebuilt workflows and free onboarding
Thinkific:Drag-and-drop builder with AI-assisted content drafts
Tie
support
Drip:Email Mon–Fri; live chat only on $99/mo+ plans
Thinkific:Email and chat on all plans; phone on Grow
Thinkific
scale ceiling
Drip:Scales with list size; unlimited sends and sub-accounts
Thinkific:10,000 students per plan; Plus handles 10,000+ seats
Tie
deal-breaker
Drip:Weak fit for B2B or newsletter-only senders
Thinkific:Not an email marketing platform; video bandwidth caps
Tie

Feature Comparison Summary

1
Drip
4
Ties
1
Thinkific

Which should you choose?

Choose Drip if

  • Your store runs on Shopify, WooCommerce, or BigCommerce
  • You want abandoned cart and win-back emails live fast
  • You manage email for multiple ecommerce client stores

Choose Thinkific if

  • You're selling courses, memberships, or coaching programs
  • You want checkout, community, and lessons in one login
  • You need B2B invoicing, POs, and seat licensing

Drip vs Thinkific: pros and cons

Drip packs prebuilt ecommerce automations, self-updating segments, and one plan that unlocks every feature, backed by 50+ store integrations and a 14-day free trial. Usage-based pricing is hard to predict upfront, live chat starts at $99/month, and vendor performance claims lack third-party reviews. Overall, it's a solid pick for B2C stores that want revenue-driving email running fast.

Pros

  • Prebuilt ecommerce workflows — welcome series, abandoned cart, post-purchase, and win-back — let stores launch revenue-driving automations from day one instead of building from a blank canvas.
  • Dynamic segments update automatically from purchase, browsing, and spending behavior, and Drip reports customers using segments earn 5x more revenue than those who don't.
  • Strong published performance metrics — a 99.8% email delivery rate, 61% open rate on workflow emails, and a 5% click-through rate.

Cons

  • Pricing scales with active contacts and monthly email volume, so costs are hard to predict upfront — the pricing page calculator only shows the $39 entry rate for 1–2,500 people, not your actual projected bill.
  • Live chat support is reserved for plans of $99/month and higher; lower-tier customers get email support only, Monday through Friday.
  • Free migration and 90-day personalized onboarding are limited to lists over 17,500 people, so smaller stores switching platforms must handle the move themselves.
Best for
Shopify, WooCommerce, or BigCommerce store owners who want email revenue without hiring a specialist, Small ecommerce teams tired of bloated or restrictive platforms like Klaviyo or Mailchimp, Course creators and coaching businesses nurturing an audience toward purchases

Thinkific bundles courses, community, and checkout on one platform, with flat per-site pricing that covers up to 10,000 students, verified security credentials, and a 4.5/5 G2 rating. The trade-offs: no free plan or refund guarantee, tier-gated features, and bandwidth caps. Overall, it's a strong pick for creators and teams serious about selling what they know.

Pros

  • Courses, community, and checkout run on one platform with a single learner login, so you avoid stitching together a separate course builder, payment processor, and community app.
  • Commerce goes beyond basic payments — subscriptions, payment plans, bundles, upsells, order bumps, multi-currency checkout, automated sales tax and VAT, and failed-payment recovery are all built in.
  • Pricing is flat per site rather than per student — every self-serve plan covers up to 10,000 current students and unlimited published courses, so costs don't climb with enrollment.

Cons

  • There is no free plan — only a 30-day trial — and Thinkific advertises no money-back guarantee.
  • Video bandwidth is capped by tier at 100–400 GB per month, the main limit that scales with price, which can constrain video-heavy course catalogs.
  • Important capabilities sit behind higher tiers — API access and webhooks start at Grow, Thinkific branding removal requires Grow, and SCORM, SSO, and HubSpot/Salesforce integrations are reserved for quote-based Plus.
Best for
Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs, Companies running customer or partner training to drive revenue and retention

Drip and Thinkific in detail

Drip

Drip is an email marketing and automation platform built for B2C businesses selling digital or physical goods online. That includes ecommerce stores, creators, course and coaching sellers, and event or booking companies. Its core toolkit covers email design, automated workflows, dynamic segmentation, onsite pop-ups, embedded forms, and customer insights. It connects to platforms like Shopify, WooCommerce, and BigCommerce through 50+ integrations.

Standout features

  • Emails that feel tailor-made
  • Proven workflows, live from day one
  • Segments that build themselves
  • Grow your list on your own site
  • Real help, and an easy switch

Use cases

  • Recover abandoned carts on autopilot
  • Send smarter with self-updating segments
  • Switch platforms without the headache
  • Sell more than products
Read the full Drip review

Thinkific

Thinkific is an all-in-one platform for creating, selling, and running online learning. It covers courses, communities, memberships, coaching, digital downloads, and the checkout to sell them. It's built for experts turning knowledge into revenue, academies scaling training, companies running customer education, and associations powering member learning. Thinkific says 20,000+ teams use it, and customers have earned $4.23B.

Standout features

  • Build courses learners actually finish
  • Community that lives beside your lessons
  • Sell more with built-in commerce
  • AI that handles the busywork

Use cases

  • Turn your expertise into revenue
  • Scale a professional training academy
  • Train customers and partners
  • Build member education that renews
Read the full Thinkific review

Pricing compared

List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.

Pricing comparedDripThinkific
From (cheapest paid plan)
$39/mo
Usage-Based Pricing
$54/mo
Basic
Free plan
No
No
Free trial
14 days
30 days
Money-back guarantee
Not stated
Not stated
Annual billing savings
—
Up to 26%
Pricing model
Flat price
Flat price
Cost for 1 user
$39/moCheaper
Usage-Based Pricing plan, billed monthly
$54/mo
Basic plan, billed monthly
Cost for 5 users
$39/mo
Usage-Based Pricing plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$54/mo
Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 10 users
$39/mo
Usage-Based Pricing plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$54/mo
Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 25 users
$39/mo
Usage-Based Pricing plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$54/mo
Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Plans
1
5
Prices checked
Prices not verified yet — see the vendor page.
Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026
Price history
No tracked prices yet
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
  • Cheapest plan that fits each team size. Per-user plans are multiplied by the number of users (respecting stated minimums and seat packs). Plans that include some users cost their base price plus the extra-user price for each user beyond those included. Flat-priced plans with no stated user limit are counted as one licence per user.

Cheaper for your team size

For 1 user (billed monthly), Drip costs $39/mo vs Thinkific at $54/mo.

Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.

More comparisons

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Drip host courses like Thinkific?

No. Drip emails your course and coaching audiences but doesn't host lessons or checkout. Thinkific hosts courses, communities, and payments, sending only abandoned-cart emails. Many sellers use both together.