Compare

Sellfy vs Thinkific

Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.

Sellfy

Best for: Creators selling digital downloads like ebooks, music, presets, courses, and design packs, Sellers who want subscription revenue with automatic weekly, monthly, or yearly payments

Read the full Sellfy review
Start free trial
Thinkific

Best for: Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs

Read the full Thinkific review
Start free trial

Commission may apply at no extra cost

Sellfy vs Thinkific: features compared

Compare key features side by side

best for
Sellfy:Digital downloads, subscriptions, and merch for creators
Thinkific:Online courses, coaching, memberships, and learning communities
Tie
integrations/MCP
Sellfy:Limited integrations shown; MCP unknown
Thinkific:App Store, Zapier, API on Grow; HubSpot on Plus
Thinkific
learning curve
Sellfy:No-code templates with drag-and-drop editing
Thinkific:Drag-and-drop builder with AI drafting help
Tie
support
Sellfy:24/7 email on all plans; priority on Premium
Thinkific:Email and chat; phone and priority chat on Grow
Thinkific
scale ceiling
Sellfy:Caps at $200k yearly sales; custom offers above
Thinkific:10,000 students per plan; Plus adds custom seats
Thinkific
deal-breaker
Sellfy:Sales caps force upgrades or a 2% overage fee
Thinkific:2.9% processing fee; no money-back guarantee advertised
Tie

Feature Comparison Summary

0
Sellfy
3
Ties
3
Thinkific

Which should you choose?

Choose Sellfy if

  • You sell ebooks, music, presets, or design packs
  • You upload large files up to 20GB each

Choose Thinkific if

  • You sell courses, coaching, or memberships
  • You want community discussions tied to lessons
  • You need B2B invoicing, SCORM, or SSO

Sellfy vs Thinkific: pros and cons

Sellfy offers flat monthly pricing with 0% platform transaction fees, 20GB file uploads, subscriptions, and built-in email plus affiliate marketing — no code needed. Plans run $22–$119 a month, but yearly sales caps and Business-tier gating on key growth tools are real limits. Overall, it's a solid pick for creators selling digital products without per-sale fees.

Pros

  • Charges 0% transaction fees on all plans, so a $10 ebook sale keeps its full price minus only the standard PayPal/Stripe processing fee — the site contrasts this with Gumroad's 10% per-sale cut.
  • Supports digital uploads up to 20GB per file on Premium (15GB on Business, 10GB on Starter), enough for full video courses, music packs, and design bundles without external file hosting.
  • Bundles email marketing, affiliate programs, SEO, product upselling, and cart abandonment recovery into the dashboard, replacing separate subscriptions to tools like Kit ($0–$1000/mo) or Refersion ($99/mo).

Cons

  • Plans are capped by annual sales volume ($10k Starter, $50k Business, $200k Premium); exceeding your cap without upgrading can trigger a 2% overage fee on the excess revenue.
  • The 0% transaction fee claim excludes payment processing — PayPal or Stripe still takes roughly 2.9% + 30¢ per sale, and payouts depend on those gateways being available in your country.
  • Cart abandonment, affiliate marketing, upselling, custom fields, and removing Sellfy branding are all gated behind the Business plan ($59/mo yearly) or higher, so the entry tier omits key growth tools.
Best for
Creators selling digital downloads like ebooks, music, presets, courses, and design packs, Sellers who want subscription revenue with automatic weekly, monthly, or yearly payments, People who prefer flat monthly pricing over per-sale transaction fees

Thinkific bundles courses, community, and checkout on one platform, with flat per-site pricing that covers up to 10,000 students, verified security credentials, and a 4.5/5 G2 rating. The trade-offs: no free plan or refund guarantee, tier-gated features, and bandwidth caps. Overall, it's a strong pick for creators and teams serious about selling what they know.

Pros

  • Courses, community, and checkout run on one platform with a single learner login, so you avoid stitching together a separate course builder, payment processor, and community app.
  • Commerce goes beyond basic payments — subscriptions, payment plans, bundles, upsells, order bumps, multi-currency checkout, automated sales tax and VAT, and failed-payment recovery are all built in.
  • Pricing is flat per site rather than per student — every self-serve plan covers up to 10,000 current students and unlimited published courses, so costs don't climb with enrollment.

Cons

  • There is no free plan — only a 30-day trial — and Thinkific advertises no money-back guarantee.
  • Video bandwidth is capped by tier at 100–400 GB per month, the main limit that scales with price, which can constrain video-heavy course catalogs.
  • Important capabilities sit behind higher tiers — API access and webhooks start at Grow, Thinkific branding removal requires Grow, and SCORM, SSO, and HubSpot/Salesforce integrations are reserved for quote-based Plus.
Best for
Experts and coaches selling courses, memberships, coaching, or digital downloads, Training academies scaling professional education programs, Companies running customer or partner training to drive revenue and retention

Sellfy and Thinkific in detail

Sellfy

Sellfy is an online store builder aimed at creators. It handles digital products like ebooks, music, videos, and design files (up to 20GB per file), plus subscriptions and physical goods. Its site cites 75K+ creators who've earned $165M+ through it. If you want one place to sell, take payments, and run simple marketing, it's built for that job.

Standout features

  • Keep more of every sale with 0% transaction fees
  • Launch a no-code store in minutes
  • Sell big files and build recurring income
  • Run marketing without stacking extra tools

Use cases

  • Sell digital downloads with big files
  • Build recurring income with subscriptions
  • Mix digital and physical products
  • Automate marketing while you create
Read the full Sellfy review

Thinkific

Thinkific is an all-in-one platform for creating, selling, and running online learning. It covers courses, communities, memberships, coaching, digital downloads, and the checkout to sell them. It's built for experts turning knowledge into revenue, academies scaling training, companies running customer education, and associations powering member learning. Thinkific says 20,000+ teams use it, and customers have earned $4.23B.

Standout features

  • Build courses learners actually finish
  • Community that lives beside your lessons
  • Sell more with built-in commerce
  • AI that handles the busywork

Use cases

  • Turn your expertise into revenue
  • Scale a professional training academy
  • Train customers and partners
  • Build member education that renews
Read the full Thinkific review

Pricing compared

List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.

Pricing comparedSellfyThinkific
From (cheapest paid plan)
$29/mo
Starter
$54/mo
Basic
Free plan
No
No
Free trial
14 days
30 days
Money-back guarantee
30 days
Not stated
Annual billing savings
Up to 25%
Up to 26%
Pricing model
Flat price
Flat price
Cost for 1 user
$22/moCheaper
Starter plan, billed annually
$40/mo
Basic plan, billed annually
Cost for 5 users
$22/mo
Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
$40/mo
Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 10 users
$22/mo
Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
$40/mo
Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 25 users
$22/mo
Starter plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
$40/mo
Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
Plans
3
5
Prices checked
Checked Oct 12, 2026
Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026
Price history
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
  • Cheapest plan that fits each team size. Per-user plans are multiplied by the number of users (respecting stated minimums and seat packs). Plans that include some users cost their base price plus the extra-user price for each user beyond those included. Flat-priced plans with no stated user limit are counted as one licence per user.

Cheaper for your team size

For 1 user (billed annually), Sellfy costs $22/mo vs Thinkific at $40/mo.

Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.

More comparisons