Compare

Big Cartel vs Notify Me

Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.

Big Cartel

Best for: Hobbyist makers — jewelry creators, printmakers, crafters — launching their first online shop on the free $0/month plan, Bands and musicians who want to sell merchandise directly to fans without paying for retail features they won't use

Read the full Big Cartel review
Visit Big Cartel
Notify Me

Best for: Shopify stores with frequent stockouts or limited product drops, Merchants who want to collect emails from shoppers hitting sold-out pages

Read the full Notify Me review
Visit Notify Me

Commission may apply at no extra cost

Big Cartel vs Notify Me: features compared

Compare key features side by side

best for
Big Cartel:—
Notify Me:Shopify stores with stockouts, preorders, and wishlists
Tie
integrations/MCP
Big Cartel:—
Notify Me:Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Omnisend, PushOwl; REST API and MCP
Tie
learning curve
Big Cartel:—
Notify Me:Installs in minutes; some needed theme setup help
Tie
support
Big Cartel:—
Notify Me:Live chat from Standard; VIP support on Plus
Tie
scale ceiling
Big Cartel:Plans cap at $90/month
Notify Me:Unlimited notifications and wishlists on Notify Plus
Notify Me
deal-breaker
Big Cartel:Features and integrations undocumented here
Notify Me:Shopify/BigCommerce only; SMS and WhatsApp cost extra
Tie

Feature Comparison Summary

0
Big Cartel
5
Ties
1
Notify Me

Which should you choose?

Choose Big Cartel if

  • A free trial matters to your buying decision

Choose Notify Me if

  • You sell on Shopify or BigCommerce with frequent stockouts
  • You need back-in-stock alerts, preorders, and wishlists
  • You want Klaviyo or Mailchimp sync, plus REST API and MCP

Big Cartel vs Notify Me: pros and cons

Big Cartel

Big Cartel

Big Cartel strips ecommerce back to the basics artists actually need: a customizable storefront, product listings, order management, and flat pricing from $0 to $90 a month with no hidden fees. The intentionally minimal toolset and $90/month ceiling mean big catalogs will outgrow it. Overall, it's a low-risk launchpad for creative side hustles and first shops.

Pros

  • A free plan at $0 per month lets you open a real store with no upfront investment, which is rare among ecommerce platforms
  • Flat monthly pricing from $0 to $90 with no hidden fees keeps costs predictable instead of fluctuating with your sales
  • The interface is simple enough for non-technical creatives to launch a shop quickly without developer help

Cons

  • The feature set is intentionally minimal, so sellers who need advanced shipping rules, marketing automation, or a large app ecosystem may outgrow it
  • The $90 per month top plan is the pricing ceiling, and high-volume stores with large catalogs may find better value on platforms built for scale
  • Third-party review coverage is thin, which makes it harder to benchmark long-term user satisfaction before committing
Best for
Hobbyist makers — jewelry creators, printmakers, crafters — launching their first online shop on the free $0/month plan, Bands and musicians who want to sell merchandise directly to fans without paying for retail features they won't use, Photographers and painters selling prints or original work through a clean, low-maintenance storefront

Notify Me! turns sold-out pages into waitlists, pre-orders, and wishlists, then feeds demand signals into Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Omnisend, and PushOwl. Its 4.9/5 rating across 3,400-plus reviews shows real recovery power, but it's locked to Shopify and BigCommerce and SMS costs vary by country. Overall, it's a strong pick for stores losing sales to stockouts.

Pros

  • Bundles four revenue-recovery tools — back-in-stock alerts, pre-orders, wishlists, and low-stock reminders — into one app, replacing what would otherwise require several single-purpose subscriptions
  • Proven at scale — 35,000+ Shopify and BigCommerce stores, $502M+ in recovered merchant sales, and a 4.9/5 Shopify App Store rating across 3,400+ verified reviews with 97% five-star feedback
  • Alerts sync natively into Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Omnisend, and PushOwl, and widgets work with page builders like PageFly, GemPages, and EComposer — no CSV exports or glue code required

Cons

  • Built exclusively for Shopify and BigCommerce — merchants on WooCommerce, Magento, or custom platforms can't use it
  • SMS and WhatsApp messages are billed separately at rates that vary by country, so total notification costs are hard to predict until you check the per-country rate tables
  • Setup isn't fully self-serve — some reviewers needed support help integrating widgets with their themes or handling product variants
Best for
Shopify stores with frequent stockouts or limited product drops, Merchants who want to collect emails from shoppers hitting sold-out pages, Brands using preorders to keep selling during supply gaps

Big Cartel and Notify Me in detail

Big Cartel

Big Cartel is a hosted ecommerce website builder designed for DIY makers and artists. It provides the core tools of an online store — product listings, a customizable storefront, and order management — in a package simple enough for someone with no technical background. The platform's entire focus is helping independent creatives sell their goods and grow from a first sale into a sustainable shop.

Standout features

  • Customizable Storefront Themes
  • Product and Inventory Management
  • Order Management
  • Built for Creative Sellers

Use cases

  • Launching a First Shop for Handmade Goods
  • Selling Band Merchandise Directly to Fans
  • Selling Art Prints and Photography
  • Testing a Side Hustle Before Going Professional
Read the full Big Cartel review

Notify Me

Notify Me! is a Shopify and BigCommerce app that turns out-of-stock moments into revenue. It replaces "Sold out" buttons with waitlist signups, preorder options, and wishlists, then feeds those signals into your email and marketing tools. It's built for e-commerce merchants who want to capture demand on products they can't currently ship—from small brands to the 35,000+ stores already using it.

Standout features

  • Turn "Sold out" into signups
  • Keep selling with pre-orders
  • Wishlists that reveal demand
  • Plugs into the stack you already run
  • Built for developers, too

Use cases

  • Turn sold-out pages into waitlists
  • Keep selling through supply gaps
  • Gauge demand with wishlists
  • Feed alerts into your marketing stack
Read the full Notify Me review

Pricing compared

List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.

Pricing comparedBig CartelNotify Me
From (cheapest paid plan)
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales
$19.90/mo
Starter
Free plan
No
Yes
Lifetime caps: 100 back-in-stock requests, 5 SMS, 5 WhatsApp messages, 5 pre-orders, 50 wishlist actions; 10 notifications/month
Free trial
Not stated
Not stated
Money-back guarantee
Not stated
30 days
Annual billing savings
—
Up to 20%
Pricing model
Flat price
Flat price
Cost for 1 user
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly
FreeCheaper
Free plan, billed monthly
Cost for 5 users
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$19.90/mo
Starter plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 10 users
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$19.90/mo
Starter plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 25 users
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$19.90/mo
Starter plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Plans
3
6
Prices checked
Checked Oct 13, 2026
Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026
Price history
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet.
  • Cheapest plan that fits each team size. Per-user plans are multiplied by the number of users (respecting stated minimums and seat packs). Plans that include some users cost their base price plus the extra-user price for each user beyond those included. Flat-priced plans with no stated user limit are counted as one licence per user.

Cheaper for your team size

For 1 user (billed monthly), Notify Me costs $0/mo vs Big Cartel at $15/mo.

  • Only Notify Me has a free plan.

Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.

More comparisons

Frequently Asked Questions

What does Notify Me integrate with?

It syncs with Klaviyo, Mailchimp, Omnisend, and PushOwl, works with PageFly, GemPages, and EComposer, and offers a REST API plus MCP server. Big Cartel's integrations aren't documented here.