Compare

Big Cartel vs Postscript

Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.

Big Cartel

Best for: Hobbyist makers — jewelry creators, printmakers, crafters — launching their first online shop on the free $0/month plan, Bands and musicians who want to sell merchandise directly to fans without paying for retail features they won't use

Read the full Big Cartel review
Visit Big Cartel
Postscript

Best for: Established Shopify stores (typically $500k+ annual revenue) that want to make SMS a primary revenue channel and can justify a $100–$500/month platform fee plus per-message costs, DTC brands that need deep SMS-specific expertise and strategic guidance rather than a generic multi-channel tool, and who value Postscript's dedicated team support

Read the full Postscript review
Visit Postscript

Commission may apply at no extra cost

Big Cartel vs Postscript: features compared

Compare key features side by side

best for
Big Cartel:Unknown; sources don't specify ideal users
Postscript:Shopify stores focused on SMS revenue growth
Postscript
integrations/MCP
Big Cartel:—
Postscript:Shopify-only; SDK for custom integrations
Tie
learning curve
Big Cartel:—
Postscript:Built for Shopify; streamlined onboarding
Tie
support
Big Cartel:—
Postscript:Live chat and email weekdays; priority on higher plans
Tie
scale ceiling
Big Cartel:Paid plans cap at $90/month
Postscript:Enterprise custom plans; usage-based scaling
Postscript
deal-breaker
Big Cartel:Limited verified info publicly available
Postscript:Shopify-only; SMS needs other marketing tools
Tie

Feature Comparison Summary

0
Big Cartel
4
Ties
2
Postscript

Which should you choose?

Choose Big Cartel if

  • You don't need SMS marketing for your store

Choose Postscript if

  • You run a Shopify store and want SMS revenue
  • You want AI message testing and compliance support

Big Cartel vs Postscript: pros and cons

Big Cartel strips ecommerce back to the basics artists actually need: a customizable storefront, product listings, order management, and flat pricing from $0 to $90 a month with no hidden fees. The intentionally minimal toolset and $90/month ceiling mean big catalogs will outgrow it. Overall, it's a low-risk launchpad for creative side hustles and first shops.

Pros

  • A free plan at $0 per month lets you open a real store with no upfront investment, which is rare among ecommerce platforms
  • Flat monthly pricing from $0 to $90 with no hidden fees keeps costs predictable instead of fluctuating with your sales
  • The interface is simple enough for non-technical creatives to launch a shop quickly without developer help

Cons

  • The feature set is intentionally minimal, so sellers who need advanced shipping rules, marketing automation, or a large app ecosystem may outgrow it
  • The $90 per month top plan is the pricing ceiling, and high-volume stores with large catalogs may find better value on platforms built for scale
  • Third-party review coverage is thin, which makes it harder to benchmark long-term user satisfaction before committing
Best for
Hobbyist makers — jewelry creators, printmakers, crafters — launching their first online shop on the free $0/month plan, Bands and musicians who want to sell merchandise directly to fans without paying for retail features they won't use, Photographers and painters selling prints or original work through a clean, low-maintenance storefront
Postscript

Postscript

Shopify's SMS specialist for serious ROI.

We found Postscript to be a powerful, dedicated SMS marketing tool built exclusively for Shopify. Its focus on compliance, AI-driven optimization, and strategic support makes it a top choice for brands ready to invest in a high-return channel. Overall, it's an excellent, niche solution for Shopify merchants prioritizing SMS revenue growth.

Pros

  • Deep SMS-only expertise and strategic support
  • High reported average ROI (34x)
  • Powerful AI for message optimization (Infinity Testing)

Cons

  • Only works with Shopify stores (no other platforms)
  • Specialized pricing may not suit very tight budgets
  • Not an all-in-one marketing suite; requires other tools for channels beyond SMS
Best for
Established Shopify stores (typically $500k+ annual revenue) that want to make SMS a primary revenue channel and can justify a $100–$500/month platform fee plus per-message costs, DTC brands that need deep SMS-specific expertise and strategic guidance rather than a generic multi-channel tool, and who value Postscript's dedicated team support, Merchants who prioritize TCPA and carrier compliance and want an in-house legal team managing opt-in, opt-out, and messaging regulations

Big Cartel and Postscript in detail

Big Cartel

Big Cartel is a hosted ecommerce website builder designed for DIY makers and artists. It provides the core tools of an online store — product listings, a customizable storefront, and order management — in a package simple enough for someone with no technical background. The platform's entire focus is helping independent creatives sell their goods and grow from a first sale into a sustainable shop.

Standout features

  • Customizable Storefront Themes
  • Product and Inventory Management
  • Order Management
  • Built for Creative Sellers

Use cases

  • Launching a First Shop for Handmade Goods
  • Selling Band Merchandise Directly to Fans
  • Selling Art Prints and Photography
  • Testing a Side Hustle Before Going Professional
Read the full Big Cartel review

Postscript

✨ Postscript is a dedicated SMS marketing platform built specifically for Shopify stores. It's for ecommerce brands that want to move beyond generic blasts and build a profitable, conversational channel with their customers.

The service combines specialized software with a strategic team of SMS experts. Their goal is to transform your list into a reliable, high-ROI revenue stream through compliant and effective messaging.

Standout features

  • Turn SMS Into Your Top Revenue Channel
  • Grow Your List 3x Faster
  • Send Smarter Messages with AI-Powered Optimization
  • Have Real Conversations That Drive Sales

Use cases

  • Launching a New Product Collection
  • Abandoned Cart Recovery That Feels Human
  • Growing a Compliant Subscriber List
  • Moving from Basic Blasts to High-Performing Campaigns
Read the full Postscript review

Pricing compared

List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.

Pricing comparedBig CartelPostscript
From (cheapest paid plan)
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales
$100/mo
Growth
Free plan
No
Yes
$49 monthly minimum spend; $0.009/SMS, $0.045/MMS plus carrier fees; for brands getting started with SMS; includes campaigns and automations, unlimited segments, dedicated toll-free number, subscriber acquisition tools with 2 opt-in keywords, branded short link subdomain.
Free trial
Not stated
Not stated
Money-back guarantee
Not stated
Not stated
Annual billing savings
—
—
Pricing model
Flat price
Flat price
Cost for 1 user
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly
FreeCheaper
Starter plan, billed monthly
Cost for 5 users
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$100/mo
Growth plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 10 users
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$100/mo
Growth plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 25 users
$15/mo
Tools to grow your sales plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$100/mo
Growth plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
Plans
3
5
Prices checked
Checked Oct 12, 2026
Checked Oct 13, 2026
Price history
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
  • Cheapest plan that fits each team size. Per-user plans are multiplied by the number of users (respecting stated minimums and seat packs). Plans that include some users cost their base price plus the extra-user price for each user beyond those included. Flat-priced plans with no stated user limit are counted as one licence per user.

Cheaper for your team size

For 1 user (billed monthly), Postscript costs $0/mo vs Big Cartel at $15/mo.

  • Only Postscript has a free plan.

Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.

More comparisons