Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Backlog by Nulab Inc for flat-rate task and code management; pick GitLab for full DevSecOps with CI/CD, security, and AI agents.
Best for: Software teams that want issue tracking and code hosting under one roof, Agile teams that plan with Kanban boards or Gantt charts
Read the full Backlog by Nulab Inc reviewBest for: Software teams consolidating code, CI/CD, and security tools into one platform, Enterprises in regulated industries like finance, public sector, and aerospace
Read the full GitLab reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Backlog bundles task tracking, Gantt and Kanban views, docs, and built-in Git and SVN behind flat-rate pricing that never climbs with headcount. The AI Assistant, unlimited Gantt views, and enterprise SSO sit on pricier tiers, though, and storage caps run tight. Overall, it's a solid pick for growing teams that want projects and code on one predictable bill.
GitLab brings planning, code, CI/CD, and security onto one platform, with AI agents that handle repetitive work under rules you set. Free and Premium pricing is clear, but Ultimate hides its price and paid plans bill annually only. Overall, it's a strong consolidation bet if you accept the yearly commitment.
Backlog is a project management platform from Nulab Inc. It combines task tracking, Agile boards, Gantt charts, bug tracking, and team documentation in one tool.
Developers can manage Git and SVN code without leaving the app, and an AI assistant summarizes updates and drafts documents. Nulab says more than 4 million users worldwide rely on it.
GitLab is a DevSecOps platform covering the whole software lifecycle — planning, source code management, CI/CD, and application security — on a single data plane. Its Duo Agent Platform adds AI agents that turn issues into merge requests, remediate vulnerabilities, and review code under your rules. It targets teams of every size, from startups to enterprises in regulated industries, with 50+ million people already using it.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Backlog by Nulab Inc | GitLab |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $35/mo Starter | $5/mo Storage (add-on) |
| Free plan | Yes 10 users | Yes No credit card required. For individuals on personal projects and open source. 5 users per top-level group, 400 compute minutes/month, 10 GiB adjustable storage, SAST. |
| Free trial | Not stated | Yes |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Per-user and flat plans |
| Cost for 1 user | Free Free plan, billed annually | Free Free (GitLab.com) plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | Free Free plan, billed annually | $5/mo Storage (add-on) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | Free Free plan, billed annually | $5/mo Storage (add-on) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $35/moCheaper Starter plan, billed monthly | $375/mo Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly |
| Plans | 5 | 12 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Backlog by Nulab Inc and GitLab both cost $0/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
GitLab. It offers Ultimate, single-tenant Dedicated hosting, FedRAMP government options, and air-gapped deployment. Backlog's Enterprise adds SSO and audit logs, but GitLab targets regulated organizations more deeply.