Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick GitLab if you need code, CI/CD, and security in one platform; choose Hive if you want simple, month-to-month project management — but verify details, since its public info is thin.
Best for: Software teams consolidating code, CI/CD, and security tools into one platform, Enterprises in regulated industries like finance, public sector, and aerospace
Read the full GitLab reviewBest for: Marketing teams that plan campaigns, coordinate content, and need approval workflows in one place., Agencies and studios that manage multiple client projects and bill by the hour.
Read the full Hive reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
GitLab brings planning, code, CI/CD, and security onto one platform, with AI agents that handle repetitive work under rules you set. Free and Premium pricing is clear, but Ultimate hides its price and paid plans bill annually only. Overall, it's a strong consolidation bet if you accept the yearly commitment.
Hive bundles project views, native time tracking, proofing, and chat into one workspace, which can replace several separate subscriptions for agencies and creative teams. Setup takes real effort, though, and the most valuable features sit behind paid tiers with pricing that isn't fully published. Overall, it's a solid pick for teams that bill time or manage client approvals.
GitLab is a DevSecOps platform covering the whole software lifecycle — planning, source code management, CI/CD, and application security — on a single data plane. Its Duo Agent Platform adds AI agents that turn issues into merge requests, remediate vulnerabilities, and review code under your rules. It targets teams of every size, from startups to enterprises in regulated industries, with 50+ million people already using it.
Hive is a cloud-based project management and productivity platform. Teams plan work in flexible layouts — Kanban boards, Gantt charts, calendars, and table views — and manage tasks, files, conversations, and approvals from a single workspace. It runs in the browser and offers desktop and mobile apps for working across devices.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | GitLab | Hive |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $5/mo Storage (add-on) | $5/mo Starter · per user |
| Free plan | Yes No credit card required. For individuals on personal projects and open source. 5 users per top-level group, 400 compute minutes/month, 10 GiB adjustable storage, SAST. | No |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Per-user and flat plans | Per user |
| Cost for 1 user | FreeCheaper Free (GitLab.com) plan, billed monthly | $5/mo Starter plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $75/mo Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly | $25/moCheaper Starter plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 10 users | $150/mo Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly | $50/moCheaper Starter plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 25 users | $375/mo Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly | $125/moCheaper Starter plan, billed monthly |
| Plans | 12 | 2 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 | Checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 5 users (billed monthly), Hive costs $25/mo vs GitLab at $75/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
GitLab, based on available facts. It offers compliance tooling, data residency, and government deployment options. Hive's enterprise capabilities aren't documented here, so confirm directly with the vendor.