Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Knack if you want flexible billing and a free trial; pick Softr if you'd rather keep things simple with month-to-month plans — both start free.
Best for: Operations managers who need internal tools — inventory trackers, order management, approval workflows — without waiting months on an IT backlog, Agencies and consultants building client portals where each client needs a secure login to view only their own records
Read the full Knack reviewBest for: Agencies and service businesses that want a branded client portal on top of their existing Airtable or spreadsheet data, Operations, HR, and small internal teams replacing shared spreadsheets with role-based internal tools and dashboards
Read the full Softr reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Knack pairs a point-and-click database builder with hosted web apps, so client portals, internal tools, and early SaaS products can launch without developers. The tradeoffs are a genuine learning curve and costs that climb with usage, up to $98,657 a month at the top end. Overall, it's a solid pick for teams whose data has outgrown spreadsheets.
Softr lets non-technical teams assemble client portals, member areas, and internal tools on top of Airtable or Sheets data, with granular permissions and built-in accounts. It hits a ceiling with heavy backend logic and large datasets, and you're tied to Softr's hosting. Overall, it's a solid pick for fast, workflow-driven builds without developers.
Knack is an all-in-one no-code platform that pairs a point-and-click database builder with a visual application builder. You define your data — records, relationships, and permissions — then layer on forms, views, searches, dashboards, and workflow logic. Knack hosts the finished application, handles the underlying infrastructure, and exposes APIs and embeds so the app can live inside your existing site or connect to other systems. Typical outputs include SaaS applications, custom client portals, and internal business-process tools.
Softr is an all-in-one no-code platform for building and publishing web applications without writing code. You connect a data source — such as Airtable or Softr's own built-in databases — then assemble pages from pre-built blocks like lists, tables, forms, charts, and user accounts. Granular permissions let you show different content to different user groups, and finished apps publish to the web directly from the platform. Typical outputs include client portals, member areas, internal dashboards, directories, and lightweight CRMs.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Knack | Softr |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $19/mo Starter | $25/mo Basic |
| Free plan | No | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | Up to 24% |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $19/mo Starter plan, billed monthly | FreeCheaper Free plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $19/mo Starter plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $25/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $19/mo Starter plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $25/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $19/mo Starter plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $25/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 4 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 12, 2026 | Checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed monthly), Softr costs $0/mo vs Knack at $19/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.