Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick GitLab if you're a software team consolidating code, CI/CD, and security; pick Tradify if you run a trade business managing jobs from quote to payment.
Best for: Software teams consolidating code, CI/CD, and security tools into one platform, Enterprises in regulated industries like finance, public sector, and aerospace
Read the full GitLab reviewBest for: Electrical and AV contractors who want quotes, jobs, and invoices in one system, Plumbers and gas engineers who book and manage jobs while onsite
Read the full Tradify reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
GitLab brings planning, code, CI/CD, and security onto one platform, with AI agents that handle repetitive work under rules you set. Free and Premium pricing is clear, but Ultimate hides its price and paid plans bill annually only. Overall, it's a strong consolidation bet if you accept the yearly commitment.
Tradify packs quoting, scheduling, invoicing, and payments into one app built for trades like electrical, plumbing, and HVAC. Setup looks quick with free one-on-one training, though per-user pricing climbs fast for bigger crews and accounting sync is limited to Xero and QuickBooks. Overall, it's a solid pick for trade teams ready to ditch paperwork.
GitLab is a DevSecOps platform covering the whole software lifecycle — planning, source code management, CI/CD, and application security — on a single data plane. Its Duo Agent Platform adds AI agents that turn issues into merge requests, remediate vulnerabilities, and review code under your rules. It targets teams of every size, from startups to enterprises in regulated industries, with 50+ million people already using it.
Tradify is an all-in-one job management app for trade businesses. It covers the full job lifecycle — inquiries, quoting, scheduling, job tracking, invoicing, and payments — in one place. It's aimed at electricians, plumbers, gas engineers, HVAC techs, and property maintenance services, from sole operators to larger teams. A 14-day free trial is available, and no credit card is required to start.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | GitLab | Tradify |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $5/mo Storage (add-on) | $47/mo Lite · per user |
| Free plan | Yes No credit card required. For individuals on personal projects and open source. 5 users per top-level group, 400 compute minutes/month, 10 GiB adjustable storage, SAST. | No |
| Free trial | Yes | 14 days |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Per-user and flat plans | Per user |
| Cost for 1 user | FreeCheaper Free (GitLab.com) plan, billed monthly | $47/mo Lite plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $75/moCheaper Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly | $235/mo Lite plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 10 users | $150/moCheaper Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly | $470/mo Lite plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 25 users | $375/moCheaper Enterprise Agile Planning (add-on) plan, billed monthly | $1,175/mo Lite plan, billed monthly |
| Plans | 12 | 4 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 | Checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Sep 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 5 users (billed monthly), GitLab costs $75/mo vs Tradify at $235/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Not really. GitLab is a DevSecOps platform for software teams. Tradify manages jobs for trade businesses. Choose based on whether you build software or run field service work.
Yes. GitLab offers a free trial on paid plans. Tradify provides a 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus free one-on-one training to get you going.