Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Photographers who want galleries, proofing, and delivery in one place, Artists, illustrators, and designers with image-heavy portfolios
Read the full Format reviewBest for: Small business owners who need a first professional website, Photographers, designers, and freelancers building portfolios
Read the full Ucraft reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Format bundles a portfolio site, client proofing tools, and a commission-free store under one roof, with 90+ themes and direct video hosting up to 120 minutes. Annual billing up front, first-year-only intro discounts, and a contact-to-cancel process are the trade-offs. Overall, it's a solid pick for photographers and creatives who want selling built in.
Ucraft pairs an approachable drag-and-drop editor with transparent pricing, free Google Cloud hosting, and 0% transaction fees on every store plan. It's built for non-coders and small sellers, though one-way upgrades, product caps, and lapsed-payment downtime deserve attention before you commit. Overall, it's a solid, affordable pick for simple sites and small stores.
Format is an online portfolio website builder made for creatives—photographers, filmmakers, artists, designers, architects, models, and fashion designers. One subscription covers three jobs: a professionally designed portfolio site, client proofing and management tools, and a commission-free store. Hosting is included with every plan, you can connect a custom domain, and coding is optional. Format says its support staff are creatives themselves.
Ucraft is a drag-and-drop website builder aimed at non-coders. It targets small business owners, entrepreneurs, artists, bloggers, and freelancers who want a professional, responsive site. You can build a website, landing page, blog, or online store. The company says over 360,000 business owners, bloggers, and entrepreneurs use the platform, and paid plans come with a 14-day free trial.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Format | Ucraft |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $14/mo Basic | $4.99/mo Essentials Plan |
| Free plan | No | Yes Ucraft branding watermark and ucraft.site subdomain; up to 15 pages |
| Free trial | 14 days | 14 days |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | Up to 29% | Up to 25% |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $10/mo Basic plan, billed annually | FreeCheaper Free Website plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $10/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $6/mo Website plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $10/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $6/mo Website plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $10/mo Basic plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $6/mo Website plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 9 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Ucraft costs $0/mo vs Format at $10/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Format. It bundles password-protected client galleries, proofing, contracts, and file delivery with Lightroom integration. Ucraft offers portfolio templates but lacks those photography-specific client workflow tools.