Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Square POS if you want yearly or one-time payment options; pick SumUp if you're happy with simpler monthly and usage-based billing.
Best for: New businesses and first-time sellers who want a working point of sale with no upfront software cost., Pop-up vendors, market stalls, and mobile sellers who need to accept payments on the spot with minimal setup.
Read the full Square POS reviewBest for: Coffee shops and cafés that need fast, reliable counter payments with simple sales tracking, Fast casual restaurants looking for POS order processing connected directly to card payments
Read the full SumUp reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Square POS bundles payments, inventory, and sales analytics in one system that's ready in minutes, and the free plan means you can start without spending a dime. It's built to grow with you, though card fees rise with sales and top tiers get pricey. Overall, it's a smart first pick for small and growing sellers.
SumUp bundles card readers, POS software, and invoicing into one ecosystem run from a free app, so payments, orders, and billing stay connected. It's a strong fit for cafés, salons, and small shops, though costs beyond the free app take some digging to pin down. Overall, it's a solid pick for small businesses that'd rather use one vendor than three.
Square POS is a point of sale platform that combines card readers, registers, and POS software in one system. It processes transactions, tracks inventory, and analyzes sales data from the same dashboard. The platform serves a wide range of business types, from a single-counter shop to multi-location and specialized operations, and Square sells both the software plans and the supporting hardware.
SumUp provides hardware and software that let merchants accept in-person and remote payments and manage day-to-day sales. The product line includes card readers, POS systems with order management, and invoicing capabilities, all accessible through the free SumUp App. The idea is that a business owner can process orders, take payments, and reach customers from one connected setup rather than stitching together separate vendors.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Square POS | SumUp |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $10/mo Start running your business with Square | $49/mo POS Plus |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | Free Cash or check plan, billed annually | Free Free plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $49/mo POS Plus plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $49/mo POS Plus plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $49/mo POS Plus plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 7 | 4 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Square POS and SumUp both cost $0/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Yes. Both offer free plans, so you can start selling without a monthly commitment. Paid tiers add features as your business grows.