Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Existing Shopify merchants adding in-person sales to an online store, Omnichannel retailers who want online and physical-store operations in one back office
Read the full Shopify POS reviewBest for: New businesses and first-time sellers who want a working point of sale with no upfront software cost., Pop-up vendors, market stalls, and mobile sellers who need to accept payments on the spot with minimal setup.
Read the full Square POS reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Shopify POS shines at keeping online and in-person sales in one place. Stock, orders, and customer details update in real time, and it runs on phones or tablets you already own. It's less suited to restaurants or bars, and costs rise with higher plans and extra hardware. Overall, it's a strong pick if you already sell through Shopify.
Square POS bundles payments, inventory, and sales analytics in one system that's ready in minutes, and the free plan means you can start without spending a dime. It's built to grow with you, though card fees rise with sales and top tiers get pricey. Overall, it's a smart first pick for small and growing sellers.
Shopify POS is a complete point-of-sale platform combining software and hardware for processing in-person sales. The software runs as an app on iOS and Android devices or on Shopify's dedicated POS Go handheld, while the hardware lineup covers card readers, barcode scanners, receipt printers, and cash drawers. Because it is built by Shopify, the POS shares one product catalog, inventory, and customer database with a Shopify online store, which makes it a true omnichannel system rather than a standalone card reader.
Square POS is a point of sale platform that combines card readers, registers, and POS software in one system. It processes transactions, tracks inventory, and analyzes sales data from the same dashboard. The platform serves a wide range of business types, from a single-counter shop to multi-location and specialized operations, and Square sells both the software plans and the supporting hardware.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Shopify POS | Square POS |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | See vendor page | $10/mo Start running your business with Square |
| Free plan | Not stated | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | — | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | — | Free Cash or check plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | — | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | — | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | — | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | — | 7 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 15, 2026 | Checked Oct 14, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
Not enough published prices to compare team costs: check each vendor's pricing page.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.