Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Social media managers publishing frequent short-form video across TikTok, Reels, and YouTube Shorts, Small marketing teams that need shared workspaces, comments, and consistent branding across video content
Read the full Kapwing reviewBest for: HR and L&D teams that need to produce training, compliance, and onboarding videos regularly without a dedicated video staff, Marketing teams and solo marketers creating explainer videos, product promos, and social content on limited budgets
Read the full Powtoon reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Kapwing trades desktop-editor depth for speed. It runs in any browser, auto-generates editable captions, and lets teams comment and edit together in real time, with templates and Smart Cut making social clips fast. Heavy 4K work, advanced grading, and offline editing are out of reach, and free exports carry a watermark. Overall, it's a smart pick for fast, collaborative social video.
Powtoon makes animated video feel like slide-making: you drag in characters and templates, add a voiceover, and ship explainers or training clips fast. It's proven at scale — 96% of Fortune 500 companies use it — though free exports carry a watermark and fine-grained editing control is limited. Overall, it's a smart pick for business teams that value speed over cinematic craft.
Kapwing is a web-based video editing platform aimed at creators, social media managers, and marketing teams. It combines a timeline editor with AI-assisted tools such as automatic subtitle generation, silence removal, and content repurposing, alongside real-time collaboration features that let teams comment on and edit projects together. Because it works in the browser, the same project can be opened on Windows, macOS, or a Chromebook without compatibility issues.
Powtoon is a browser-based video and animation platform for producing explainer videos, presentations, ads, and social clips. Instead of a traditional timeline editor, it offers scene-based templates stocked with animated characters, props, icons, and royalty-free media that you customize through drag-and-drop. Finished projects export as video files or play as animated presentations, and existing documents can be converted into video format. Because it runs entirely in the browser, nothing needs to be installed and projects are accessible from any device.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Kapwing | Powtoon |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $16/mo Pro | $8/mo Education |
| Free plan | Yes 10 credits; unlimited exports with a watermark; exports up to 4 minutes; 720p quality; 5 GB cloud storage; auto-subtitling up to 10 mins, text to speech up to 1 min; 30-minute monthly export limit; storage duration 3 days | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | Free Free plan, billed annually | Free Compare all features plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $16/mo Pro plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $8/mo Education plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $16/mo Pro plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $8/mo Education plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $16/mo Pro plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $8/mo Education plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 4 | 5 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Kapwing and Powtoon both cost $0/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.