Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Appsmith if you're a developer team that wants code control and enterprise-grade internal tools; pick Softr if you want a simpler no-code start, though its verified details here are thin.
Best for: Developer teams building internal tools like admin panels, dashboards, and portals, Engineering teams that want low-code speed with full JavaScript control
Read the full Appsmith reviewBest for: Agencies and service businesses that want a branded client portal on top of their existing Airtable or spreadsheet data, Operations, HR, and small internal teams replacing shared spreadsheets with role-based internal tools and dashboards
Read the full Softr reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Appsmith pairs drag-and-drop speed with real code control, and its Apache 2.0 license plus self-hosting options cut vendor lock-in risk. Complete public pricing, a generous free tier, and Git-native workflows stand out, though non-technical builders and mid-cycle billing terms deserve a close look. Overall, it's a strong pick for developer teams building internal tools.
Softr lets non-technical teams assemble client portals, member areas, and internal tools on top of Airtable or Sheets data, with granular permissions and built-in accounts. It hits a ceiling with heavy backend logic and large datasets, and you're tied to Softr's hosting. Overall, it's a solid pick for fast, workflow-driven builds without developers.
Appsmith is an open-source, developer-first low-code platform for building internal tools like dashboards, admin panels, and portals. You connect any database, SaaS tool, or REST/GraphQL API, assemble responsive UIs with drag-and-drop widgets, and fine-tune everything with JavaScript, HTML, and CSS. It's aimed at developers and engineering teams—from startups to enterprises like GSK, Twilio, and Dropbox—who need custom apps without losing code-level control.
Softr is an all-in-one no-code platform for building and publishing web applications without writing code. You connect a data source — such as Airtable or Softr's own built-in databases — then assemble pages from pre-built blocks like lists, tables, forms, charts, and user accounts. Granular permissions let you show different content to different user groups, and finished apps publish to the web directly from the platform. Typical outputs include client portals, member areas, internal dashboards, directories, and lightweight CRMs.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Appsmith | Softr |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $15/mo Business · per user | $25/mo Basic |
| Free plan | Yes Up to 5 cloud users, 5 workspaces, 3 Git repos | Yes |
| Free trial | 15 days | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | Up to 24% |
| Pricing model | Per-user and flat plans | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | Free Free plan, billed annually | Free Free plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $75/mo Business plan, billed monthly | $25/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $150/mo Business plan, billed monthly | $25/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $375/mo Business plan, billed monthly | $25/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 4 | 4 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 12, 2026 | Checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Appsmith and Softr both cost $0/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.