Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Lightspeed if you run a multi-channel retail store needing proven scale; choose SumUp if you want to start free, though its published details here are thin.
Best for: Multi-channel retailers selling in-store, online, and on social platforms, Apparel, footwear, and home decor stores
Read the full Lightspeed reviewBest for: Coffee shops and cafés that need fast, reliable counter payments with simple sales tracking, Fast casual restaurants looking for POS order processing connected directly to card payments
Read the full SumUp reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Lightspeed Retail pulls in-store, online, and Meta selling into one system, with workflows tailored to verticals like bike, garden, and vape shops. Base plans run $89–$289 monthly, but register and location add-ons require a sales quote. Overall, it's a strong pick for multi-channel retailers in supported verticals who don't mind a sales-led buying process.
SumUp bundles card readers, POS software, and invoicing into one ecosystem run from a free app, so payments, orders, and billing stay connected. It's a strong fit for cafés, salons, and small shops, though costs beyond the free app take some digging to pin down. Overall, it's a solid pick for small businesses that'd rather use one vendor than three.
Lightspeed is a point of sale and commerce platform, with Lightspeed Retail as its flagship for retailers. It's built for businesses that sell in more than one place—stores, websites, and social platforms like Meta. The company targets specific verticals: apparel, footwear, bike shops, garden centers, home decor, sporting goods, CBD, and vape. It serves businesses in over 100 countries, from single-location shops to brands like Apricot Lane, which runs 115 stores on it.
SumUp provides hardware and software that let merchants accept in-person and remote payments and manage day-to-day sales. The product line includes card readers, POS systems with order management, and invoicing capabilities, all accessible through the free SumUp App. The idea is that a business owner can process orders, take payments, and reach customers from one connected setup rather than stitching together separate vendors.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Lightspeed | SumUp |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $89/mo Basic | $49/mo POS Plus |
| Free plan | No | Yes |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly | FreeCheaper Free plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $49/mo POS Plus plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $49/mo POS Plus plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $49/mo POS Plus plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 4 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed monthly), SumUp costs $0/mo vs Lightspeed at $89/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Lightspeed. Customers run 115 stores and 10,000+ SKUs on it, with multi-location inventory visibility. Extra registers and locations are paid add-ons. SumUp's multi-location capabilities aren't detailed in available data.