Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Multi-channel retailers selling in-store, online, and on social platforms, Apparel, footwear, and home decor stores
Read the full Lightspeed reviewBest for: New businesses and first-time sellers who want a working point of sale with no upfront software cost., Pop-up vendors, market stalls, and mobile sellers who need to accept payments on the spot with minimal setup.
Read the full Square POS reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Lightspeed Retail pulls in-store, online, and Meta selling into one system, with workflows tailored to verticals like bike, garden, and vape shops. Base plans run $89–$289 monthly, but register and location add-ons require a sales quote. Overall, it's a strong pick for multi-channel retailers in supported verticals who don't mind a sales-led buying process.
Square POS bundles payments, inventory, and sales analytics in one system that's ready in minutes, and the free plan means you can start without spending a dime. It's built to grow with you, though card fees rise with sales and top tiers get pricey. Overall, it's a smart first pick for small and growing sellers.
Lightspeed is a point of sale and commerce platform, with Lightspeed Retail as its flagship for retailers. It's built for businesses that sell in more than one place—stores, websites, and social platforms like Meta. The company targets specific verticals: apparel, footwear, bike shops, garden centers, home decor, sporting goods, CBD, and vape. It serves businesses in over 100 countries, from single-location shops to brands like Apricot Lane, which runs 115 stores on it.
Square POS is a point of sale platform that combines card readers, registers, and POS software in one system. It processes transactions, tracks inventory, and analyzes sales data from the same dashboard. The platform serves a wide range of business types, from a single-counter shop to multi-location and specialized operations, and Square sells both the software plans and the supporting hardware.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Lightspeed | Square POS |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $89/mo Basic | $10/mo Start running your business with Square |
| Free plan | No | Yes |
| Free trial | Yes | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly | FreeCheaper Cash or check plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $89/mo Basic plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10/mo Start running your business with Square plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 7 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Checked Oct 13, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 9, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed monthly), Square POS costs $0/mo vs Lightspeed at $89/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Lightspeed has documented multi-store scale, with customers running 115 stores and 10,000+ SKUs. Square's scale details aren't published here, so Lightspeed is the safer pick for complex retail growth.