Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Individuals who want affordable, set-and-forget identity monitoring, Families—plans cover 5 adults plus unlimited kids
Read the full Identity Guard reviewBest for: Shoppers who want identity protection from an established security brand, Buyers comfortable confirming plan details on the vendor's official site
Read the full LifeLock reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Identity Guard pairs 25 years of monitoring experience with insurance on every plan and 24/7 US-based recovery help. Credit monitoring is gated behind the mid and top tiers, scores are educational only, and first-year prices renew higher. Overall, it's a solid pick for insured, hands-off protection — as long as you budget for renewal rates.
LifeLock backs its identity monitoring with U.S.-based Restoration Specialists, a 100% Restoration Guarantee, and coverage that scales from $1.05M to $3M, though Core's 2-bureau monitoring and full-rate renewals may give bargain hunters pause. Overall, it's a dependable Norton-backed pick if you confirm plan details before you commit.
Identity Guard is an identity theft protection service that has monitored consumers for over 25 years. It watches your personal information, credit file, and financial accounts, then alerts you to suspicious activity. Plans cover individuals or families (five adults plus unlimited kids), and each tier bundles a password manager, safe browsing tools, and identity theft insurance. It's built for anyone who wants professional monitoring and insured recovery help instead of handling fraud alone.
LifeLock is Norton's identity protection brand, hosted at lifelock.norton.com. It's aimed at people who want help guarding against identity threats and dealing with the fallout if one happens. Our automated pull of the page returned only a tracking image, so we couldn't verify current features, plan tiers, or pricing from the site itself. Treat this review as a starting point, then confirm specifics on the official page.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Identity Guard | LifeLock |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core |
| Free plan | No | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | 60 days | 60 days |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $8.99/moCheaper Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 | Vendor page checked Sep 28, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 8, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Sep 8, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Identity Guard costs $8.99/mo vs LifeLock at $10.42/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.