Compare

Experian vs Identity Guard

Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.

Quick verdict: Pick Experian for a free entry point and bureau-direct credit monitoring; pick Identity Guard for bigger family coverage, asset monitoring, and 24/7 human help.

Experian

Best for: People who want credit monitoring across all three bureaus in one place, Anyone worried their email, phone number, or address is exposed online

Read the full Experian review
Start free trial
Identity Guard

Best for: Individuals who want affordable, set-and-forget identity monitoring, Families—plans cover 5 adults plus unlimited kids

Read the full Identity Guard review
Visit Identity Guard

Commission may apply at no extra cost

Experian vs Identity Guard: features compared

Compare key features side by side

best for
Experian:Credit-focused users wanting bureau-direct 3-bureau monitoring
Identity Guard:Families and homeowners wanting wide asset monitoring
Tie
integrations/MCP
Experian:Not documented
Identity Guard:Not documented
Tie
learning curve
Experian:Low — scan, alerts, one-tap credit lock
Identity Guard:Low — enroll, then link accounts in the app
Tie
support
Experian:Dedicated fraud resolution support on paid plans
Identity Guard:24/7 US-based agents; White Glove on Ultra
Identity Guard
scale ceiling
Experian:Family covers 2 adults plus up to 10 kids
Identity Guard:Family covers 5 adults plus unlimited kids
Identity Guard
deal-breaker
Experian:CreditLock covers only your Experian file
Identity Guard:Annual billing upfront; renewals cost more
Tie

Feature Comparison Summary

0
Experian
4
Ties
2
Identity Guard

Which should you choose?

Choose Experian if

  • You prefer monthly billing and a 7-day free trial.
  • You want bureau-direct three-bureau monitoring with one-tap Experian CreditLock.

Choose Identity Guard if

  • You need one plan covering 5 adults plus unlimited kids.
  • You own a home or 401k and want Ultra asset monitoring.

Experian vs Identity Guard: pros and cons

Experian IdentityWorks bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, dark web and SSN alerts, people-finder removal help, and up to $1 million in identity theft insurance, though Premium runs about $300 a year, the one-tap lock only covers Experian's file, and third-party reviews are scarce. Overall, it's a solid pick if you want bureau-grade alerts and insurance in one subscription.

Pros

  • Tracks your Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax credit reports in one place with real-time alerts — Experian file changes surface within 48 hours of enrollment instead of requiring manual report checks.
  • Includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance underwritten by AIG affiliates, which can reimburse qualified expenses like stolen funds, legal fees, and lost wages.
  • Monthly privacy scans automatically audit people-finder sites and help remove your name, address, and phone number from covered listings, so footprint cleanup isn't a one-time manual chore.

Cons

  • The one-tap CreditLock covers your Experian file only — freezing TransUnion and Equifax still requires separate steps directly with each bureau.
  • At $24.99/month, Premium runs roughly $300 a year, which is hard to justify if free credit monitoring and AnnualCreditReport.com checks would meet your needs.
  • Equifax and TransUnion monitoring takes about 4 days to activate and sometimes can't be initiated during the 7-day trial, so you may not see full three-bureau coverage before billing starts.
Best for
People who want credit monitoring across all three bureaus in one place, Anyone worried their email, phone number, or address is exposed online, Buyers who want identity theft insurance of up to $1 million behind their monitoring

Identity Guard pairs 25 years of monitoring experience with insurance on every plan and 24/7 US-based recovery help. Credit monitoring is gated behind the mid and top tiers, scores are educational only, and first-year prices renew higher. Overall, it's a solid pick for insured, hands-off protection — as long as you budget for renewal rates.

Pros

  • Every plan includes identity theft insurance—$1 million for individuals and $5 million for family plans—underwritten by American Bankers Insurance Company, so recovery costs are covered, not just detected
  • Value plan at $7.50/month covers dark web monitoring, data breach notifications, high-risk transaction alerts, a password manager, and Safe Browsing—core identity monitoring at one of the lower entry prices in the category
  • Total and Ultra tiers add 3-bureau credit monitoring with a monthly score, and Ultra includes an Experian credit lock plus a 3-bureau annual credit report for deeper credit control

Cons

  • The advertised rates are discounted first-year prices on annual billing charged upfront, and renewals jump significantly—Value goes from $90 to $107.88 per year, Total from $200.04 to $239.88, and Ultra from $300.00 to $359.88
  • 3-bureau credit monitoring doesn't start until the Total tier at $16.67/month, so the budget Value plan leaves your credit file unwatched
  • The credit score included is educational and based on Equifax data only, which won't satisfy buyers who need a lender-recognized FICO score
Best for
Individuals who want affordable, set-and-forget identity monitoring, Families—plans cover 5 adults plus unlimited kids, Homeowners concerned about home or auto title fraud (Ultra plan)

Experian and Identity Guard in detail

Experian

Experian IdentityWorks is an identity theft protection service from Experian, one of the three major credit bureaus. It bundles credit monitoring across Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax with real-time alerts, dark web scans, and help removing your info from people-finder sites. Membership includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance. Pricing starts at $24.99 a month after a 7-day free trial.

Standout features

  • See changes across all three bureaus
  • Find out what's exposed online
  • Scrub your info from people-finder sites
  • Lock your credit file in one tap
  • A safety net if fraud happens

Use cases

  • After a data breach
  • Scrubbing your info off people-finder sites
  • Protecting the whole household
  • Locking your credit when fraud feels close
Read the full Experian review

Identity Guard

Identity Guard is an identity theft protection service that has monitored consumers for over 25 years. It watches your personal information, credit file, and financial accounts, then alerts you to suspicious activity. Plans cover individuals or families (five adults plus unlimited kids), and each tier bundles a password manager, safe browsing tools, and identity theft insurance. It's built for anyone who wants professional monitoring and insured recovery help instead of handling fraud alone.

Standout features

  • Catch Fraud Early, Not Months Later
  • Credit and Bank Coverage in One Place
  • Real Human Help, Any Hour
  • Extra Watchdogs for Your Biggest Assets
  • Everyday Tools That Keep You Safer Online

Use cases

  • Spot data leaks fast
  • Watch credit and bank accounts
  • Protect big assets
  • Cover the whole family
Read the full Identity Guard review

Pricing compared

List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.

Pricing comparedExperianIdentity Guard
From (cheapest paid plan)
$24.99/mo
Premium
$8.99/mo
Value (Basic Identity Protection)
Free plan
Yes
Experian-only credit monitoring; no 3-bureau alerts, identity theft insurance, or fraud resolution support
No
Free trial
7 days
Not stated
Money-back guarantee
Not stated
60 days
Annual billing savings
—
—
Pricing model
Flat price
Flat price
Cost for 1 user
FreeCheaper
Basic plan, billed annually
$8.99/mo
Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually
Cost for 5 users
$24.99/mo
Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$8.99/mo
Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 10 users
$24.99/mo
Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$8.99/mo
Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
Cost for 25 users
$24.99/mo
Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated)
$8.99/mo
Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated)
Plans
3
3
Prices checked
Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026
Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026
Price history
Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet.
Tracking prices since Sep 8, 2026. No price change detected yet.
  • Cheapest plan that fits each team size. Per-user plans are multiplied by the number of users (respecting stated minimums and seat packs). Plans that include some users cost their base price plus the extra-user price for each user beyond those included. Flat-priced plans with no stated user limit are counted as one licence per user.

Cheaper for your team size

For 1 user (billed annually), Experian costs $0/mo vs Identity Guard at $8.99/mo.

  • Only Experian has a free plan.

Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.

More comparisons

Frequently Asked Questions

Does either offer a free trial?

Experian includes a 7-day free trial on Premium and Family, with a credit card required. Identity Guard has no free trial but offers a 60-day money-back guarantee on annual plans bought through its website or support.