Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Families who want identity, credit, and child safety tools in one subscription, People who want three-bureau credit monitoring with an instant Experian lock
Read the full Aura reviewBest for: Individuals who want affordable, set-and-forget identity monitoring, Families—plans cover 5 adults plus unlimited kids
Read the full Identity Guard reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Aura bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, identity protection, a VPN, antivirus, and data broker removal into one app, with $1M–$5M insurance and 24/7 U.S.-based support. Refund rules favor annual website buyers, kids get lighter coverage, and antivirus skips some platforms. Overall, it's a strong pick for families who'd rather trade five subscriptions for one.
Identity Guard pairs 25 years of monitoring experience with insurance on every plan and 24/7 US-based recovery help. Credit monitoring is gated behind the mid and top tiers, scores are educational only, and first-year prices renew higher. Overall, it's a solid pick for insured, hands-off protection — as long as you budget for renewal rates.
Aura is an all-in-one online safety platform for individuals and families. It watches your credit, identity, and linked bank accounts, alerts you to fraud, and bundles a VPN, antivirus, password manager, and spam call blocking. Family plans add parental controls and gaming safety tools. It works across Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and popular browsers, with 24/7 U.S.-based support.
Identity Guard is an identity theft protection service that has monitored consumers for over 25 years. It watches your personal information, credit file, and financial accounts, then alerts you to suspicious activity. Plans cover individuals or families (five adults plus unlimited kids), and each tier bundles a password manager, safe browsing tools, and identity theft insurance. It's built for anyone who wants professional monitoring and insured recovery help instead of handling fraud alone.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Aura | Identity Guard |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $13/mo Kids | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) |
| Free plan | No | No |
| Free trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | 60 days | 60 days |
| Annual billing savings | Up to 36% | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $10/mo Kids plan, billed annually | $8.99/moCheaper Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $10/mo Kids plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $10/mo Kids plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $10/mo Kids plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) | $8.99/mo Value (Basic Identity Protection) plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 4 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 30, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Sep 8, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Identity Guard costs $8.99/mo vs Aura at $10/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Aura offers a 14-day free trial. Identity Guard advertises no free trial, but annual plans carry a 60-day money-back guarantee when bought through its website or support team.