Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Quick verdict: Pick Plooto if you want proven payment automation with accounting sync; choose Nickel only if a free start matters most and you'll verify the details yourself.
Best for: US construction firms that need to pay subcontractors and collect from clients without per-transfer fees, Wholesale distributors processing high volumes of customer ACH and card payments
Read the full Nickel reviewBest for: Accounting firms and bookkeepers managing payments across many clients, SMBs that want accounts payable and receivable automated end to end
Read the full Plooto reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Nickel gives US construction, wholesale, manufacturing, and logistics businesses a free Core plan with unlimited ACH transfers, bill pay, and card acceptance, plus paid tiers that unlock advanced workflows. Independent reviews are thin, and top-end pricing isn't publicly broken out. Overall, it's a low-risk pick for domestic businesses that want free basic payments with room to grow.
Plooto automates accounts payable and receivable with two-way QuickBooks and Xero sync, flexible payment rails, and approval workflows that keep bank credentials private. But you'll need to contact sales for base plan fees, and there's no published trial or refund policy. Overall, it's a strong fit for accounting firms and SMBs already on supported accounting software.
Nickel is an accounts receivable and business payments platform for US companies. It combines sending and receiving payments, vendor bill pay, and card payment acceptance in one place, with unlimited ACH transfers included on the free Core tier. The product splits into that free Core plan and paid plans that unlock advanced workflows tailored to industries like construction, wholesale, manufacturing, and logistics.
Plooto is a payments platform for accounting firms and their small and medium-sized business clients. It handles money coming in and going out — accounts payable, accounts receivable, and international payments — from one platform. Automated workflows manage approvals, and two-way sync keeps suppliers, invoices, and payments matched with your accounting software. The site reports 14k+ businesses supported and 3.2m+ transactions processed annually.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Nickel | Plooto |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $35/mo Nickel Plus | $9/mo Go |
| Free plan | Yes Best for small teams; 3 active users, $25,000 transaction limit, 2% APY on Nickel Balance, free expedited ACH | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | FreeCheaper Nickel Core plan, billed monthly | $9/mo Go plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $35/mo Nickel Plus plan, billed monthly | $9/mo Go plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $35/mo Nickel Plus plan, billed monthly | $9/mo Go plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $35/mo Nickel Plus plan, billed monthly | $9/mo Go plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 4 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 30, 2026 | Checked Oct 30, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 23, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed monthly), Nickel costs $0/mo vs Plooto at $9/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Every plan includes two-way sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero. Grow adds QuickBooks Desktop, and Pro offers Oracle NetSuite as an add-on.