Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Individuals who want dark web, credit, and social media monitoring in a single subscription, Families who need SSN monitoring for a spouse or partner and dependents under 18
Read the full IDShield reviewBest for: Shoppers who want identity protection from an established security brand, Buyers comfortable confirming plan details on the vendor's official site
Read the full LifeLock reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
IDShield bundles 24/7 monitoring, dark web and credit alerts, VPN and antivirus tools, and a licensed private investigator for restoration, with up to $3 million in fraud coverage. Trial and refund terms aren't published, and data-broker removal needs your input. Overall, it's a solid pick for individuals and families who want monitoring plus hands-on help.
LifeLock backs its identity monitoring with U.S.-based Restoration Specialists, a 100% Restoration Guarantee, and coverage that scales from $1.05M to $3M, though Core's 2-bureau monitoring and full-rate renewals may give bargain hunters pause. Overall, it's a dependable Norton-backed pick if you confirm plan details before you commit.
IDShield is an identity theft protection service for individuals and families. It pairs 24/7 monitoring of your identity, credit, and online reputation with privacy tools like data-broker removal, a VPN, and password protection. Every plan includes licensed private investigators who handle restoration if theft occurs, plus up to $3 million in identity fraud protection. It's built for anyone who wants watchdogs on their personal information.
LifeLock is Norton's identity protection brand, hosted at lifelock.norton.com. It's aimed at people who want help guarding against identity threats and dealing with the fallout if one happens. Our automated pull of the page returned only a tracking image, so we couldn't verify current features, plan tiers, or pricing from the site itself. Treat this review as a starting point, then confirm specifics on the official page.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | IDShield | LifeLock |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core |
| Free plan | No | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | 60 days |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Prices not verified yet — see the vendor page. | Vendor page checked Sep 28, 2026 |
| Price history | No tracked prices yet | Tracking prices since Sep 8, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
Not enough published prices to compare team costs: check each vendor's pricing page.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Yes. IDShield's PrivacyCheck locates your listings on broker sites, and you choose what's removed. LifeLock includes data broker removal on every plan.
LifeLock offers a 60-day money-back guarantee on eligible annual plans. IDShield's site shows no trial or refund terms, so confirm at checkout.