Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: People who want credit monitoring across all three bureaus in one place, Anyone worried their email, phone number, or address is exposed online
Read the full Experian reviewBest for: Shoppers who want identity protection from an established security brand, Buyers comfortable confirming plan details on the vendor's official site
Read the full LifeLock reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Experian IdentityWorks bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, dark web and SSN alerts, people-finder removal help, and up to $1 million in identity theft insurance, though Premium runs about $300 a year, the one-tap lock only covers Experian's file, and third-party reviews are scarce. Overall, it's a solid pick if you want bureau-grade alerts and insurance in one subscription.
LifeLock backs its identity monitoring with U.S.-based Restoration Specialists, a 100% Restoration Guarantee, and coverage that scales from $1.05M to $3M, though Core's 2-bureau monitoring and full-rate renewals may give bargain hunters pause. Overall, it's a dependable Norton-backed pick if you confirm plan details before you commit.
Experian IdentityWorks is an identity theft protection service from Experian, one of the three major credit bureaus. It bundles credit monitoring across Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax with real-time alerts, dark web scans, and help removing your info from people-finder sites. Membership includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance. Pricing starts at $24.99 a month after a 7-day free trial.
LifeLock is Norton's identity protection brand, hosted at lifelock.norton.com. It's aimed at people who want help guarding against identity threats and dealing with the fallout if one happens. Our automated pull of the page returned only a tracking image, so we couldn't verify current features, plan tiers, or pricing from the site itself. Treat this review as a starting point, then confirm specifics on the official page.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Experian | LifeLock |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $24.99/mo Premium | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core |
| Free plan | Yes Experian-only credit monitoring; no 3-bureau alerts, identity theft insurance, or fraud resolution support | No |
| Free trial | 7 days | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | 60 days |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | FreeCheaper Basic plan, billed annually | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $10.42/mo LifeLock Core plan, billed annually · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 13, 2026 | Vendor page checked Sep 28, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Sep 8, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Experian costs $0/mo vs LifeLock at $10.42/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Experian offers a 7-day free trial on paid plans; cancel within that window to avoid charges. LifeLock advertises no free trial, but eligible annual plans include a 60-day money-back guarantee.
LifeLock Total watches unlimited bank and credit accounts, plus 401(k)s and home title. Experian focuses on credit bureaus, dark web scans, and household coverage rather than bank account alerts.