Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: People who want credit monitoring across all three bureaus in one place, Anyone worried their email, phone number, or address is exposed online
Read the full Experian reviewBest for: Individuals who want dark web, credit, and social media monitoring in a single subscription, Families who need SSN monitoring for a spouse or partner and dependents under 18
Read the full IDShield reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Experian IdentityWorks bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, dark web and SSN alerts, people-finder removal help, and up to $1 million in identity theft insurance, though Premium runs about $300 a year, the one-tap lock only covers Experian's file, and third-party reviews are scarce. Overall, it's a solid pick if you want bureau-grade alerts and insurance in one subscription.
IDShield bundles 24/7 monitoring, dark web and credit alerts, VPN and antivirus tools, and a licensed private investigator for restoration, with up to $3 million in fraud coverage. Trial and refund terms aren't published, and data-broker removal needs your input. Overall, it's a solid pick for individuals and families who want monitoring plus hands-on help.
Experian IdentityWorks is an identity theft protection service from Experian, one of the three major credit bureaus. It bundles credit monitoring across Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax with real-time alerts, dark web scans, and help removing your info from people-finder sites. Membership includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance. Pricing starts at $24.99 a month after a 7-day free trial.
IDShield is an identity theft protection service for individuals and families. It pairs 24/7 monitoring of your identity, credit, and online reputation with privacy tools like data-broker removal, a VPN, and password protection. Every plan includes licensed private investigators who handle restoration if theft occurs, plus up to $3 million in identity fraud protection. It's built for anyone who wants watchdogs on their personal information.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Experian | IDShield |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $24.99/mo Premium | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring |
| Free plan | Yes Experian-only credit monitoring; no 3-bureau alerts, identity theft insurance, or fraud resolution support | No |
| Free trial | 7 days | Not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | — | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | FreeCheaper Basic plan, billed monthly | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly |
| Cost for 5 users | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $14.95/mo 1 Credit Bureau Monitoring plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 | Prices not verified yet — see the vendor page. |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | No tracked prices yet |
For 1 user (billed monthly), Experian costs $0/mo vs IDShield at $14.95/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.