Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Individuals who want credit monitoring sourced directly from Equifax, one of the three major bureaus, People rebuilding their credit who need ongoing visibility into report changes
Read the full Equifax reviewBest for: People who want credit monitoring across all three bureaus in one place, Anyone worried their email, phone number, or address is exposed online
Read the full Experian reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Equifax Complete bundles credit monitoring with identity theft protection, and its data comes straight from one of the three bureaus lenders actually use. Coverage is limited to one adult and a single credit file, so multi-bureau or family needs may require more. Overall, it's a solid pick for tracking your Equifax file specifically, but compare alternatives first.
Experian IdentityWorks bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, dark web and SSN alerts, people-finder removal help, and up to $1 million in identity theft insurance, though Premium runs about $300 a year, the one-tap lock only covers Experian's file, and third-party reviews are scarce. Overall, it's a solid pick if you want bureau-grade alerts and insurance in one subscription.
Equifax Complete is a subscription service that bundles credit monitoring with identity theft protection for one adult. It provides alerts and information about changes to your credit file so you can spot potential errors or fraudulent activity, along with tools aimed at helping you secure your personal information. The service is designed to keep you informed about your credit report and better protected against identity fraud.
Experian IdentityWorks is an identity theft protection service from Experian, one of the three major credit bureaus. It bundles credit monitoring across Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax with real-time alerts, dark web scans, and help removing your info from people-finder sites. Membership includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance. Pricing starts at $24.99 a month after a 7-day free trial.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Equifax | Experian |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $9.95/mo EQUIFAX Complete™ | $24.99/mo Premium |
| Free plan | No | Yes Experian-only credit monitoring; no 3-bureau alerts, identity theft insurance, or fraud resolution support |
| Free trial | Not stated | 7 days |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | Up to 17% | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $8.33/mo EQUIFAX Complete™ plan, billed annually | FreeCheaper Basic plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $9.95/mo EQUIFAX Complete™ plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $9.95/mo EQUIFAX Complete™ plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $9.95/mo EQUIFAX Complete™ plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 3 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 12, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Experian costs $0/mo vs Equifax at $8.33/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Experian offers a 7-day free trial of Premium or Family plans, requiring a credit card. Equifax's documentation doesn't list a free trial or money-back guarantee.
Equifax lets you cancel monthly plans anytime without penalty, but no partial-month refunds apply. Experian's trial must be cancelled within 7 days; cancelling paid plans reportedly requires a phone call.