Features, use cases, pros and cons, and pricing side by side — and which one to pick.
Best for: Families who want identity, credit, and child safety tools in one subscription, People who want three-bureau credit monitoring with an instant Experian lock
Read the full Aura reviewBest for: People who want credit monitoring across all three bureaus in one place, Anyone worried their email, phone number, or address is exposed online
Read the full Experian reviewCommission may apply at no extra cost
Compare key features side by side
Feature Comparison Summary
Aura bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, identity protection, a VPN, antivirus, and data broker removal into one app, with $1M–$5M insurance and 24/7 U.S.-based support. Refund rules favor annual website buyers, kids get lighter coverage, and antivirus skips some platforms. Overall, it's a strong pick for families who'd rather trade five subscriptions for one.
Experian IdentityWorks bundles three-bureau credit monitoring, dark web and SSN alerts, people-finder removal help, and up to $1 million in identity theft insurance, though Premium runs about $300 a year, the one-tap lock only covers Experian's file, and third-party reviews are scarce. Overall, it's a solid pick if you want bureau-grade alerts and insurance in one subscription.
Aura is an all-in-one online safety platform for individuals and families. It watches your credit, identity, and linked bank accounts, alerts you to fraud, and bundles a VPN, antivirus, password manager, and spam call blocking. Family plans add parental controls and gaming safety tools. It works across Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and popular browsers, with 24/7 U.S.-based support.
Experian IdentityWorks is an identity theft protection service from Experian, one of the three major credit bureaus. It bundles credit monitoring across Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax with real-time alerts, dark web scans, and help removing your info from people-finder sites. Membership includes up to $1 million in identity theft insurance. Pricing starts at $24.99 a month after a 7-day free trial.
List prices from each vendor's pricing page, before taxes and add-ons. Costs are per month.
| Pricing compared | Aura | Experian |
|---|---|---|
| From (cheapest paid plan) | $13/mo Kids | $24.99/mo Premium |
| Free plan | No | Yes Experian-only credit monitoring; no 3-bureau alerts, identity theft insurance, or fraud resolution support |
| Free trial | 14 days | 7 days |
| Money-back guarantee | 60 days | Not stated |
| Annual billing savings | Up to 36% | — |
| Pricing model | Flat price | Flat price |
| Cost for 1 user | $10/mo Kids plan, billed annually | FreeCheaper Basic plan, billed annually |
| Cost for 5 users | $13/mo Kids plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 10 users | $13/mo Kids plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Cost for 25 users | $13/mo Kids plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) | $24.99/mo Premium plan, billed monthly · price per account (user limit not stated) |
| Plans | 4 | 3 |
| Prices checked | Checked Oct 13, 2026 | Vendor page checked Oct 12, 2026 |
| Price history | Tracking prices since Sep 30, 2026. No price change detected yet. | Tracking prices since Oct 1, 2026. No price change detected yet. |
For 1 user (billed annually), Experian costs $0/mo vs Aura at $10/mo.
Computed from published list prices on the dates shown. Excludes taxes, add-ons and promotions.
Yes. Aura includes three-bureau monitoring on every plan. Experian's free Basic covers Experian only; Premium and Family add TransUnion and Equifax monitoring.
Aura offers 14 days; Experian gives 7 days but requires a credit card upfront. Aura also adds a 60-day money-back guarantee on annual plans.